Skip to Main Content

Avera McKennan School of EMS

Physical Location:
3936 S Western Ave
Mailing Address:
1325 S Cliff Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57117-5045

School of EMS Team

School of EMS team

The strength of our program is the School of EMS team. Each instructor has a wealth of knowledge and experience teaching EMS, and together they have thousands of hours of field and classroom experience.

Each instructor holds the following certifications:

  • Nationally Registered Paramedic
  • Certified Instructor Coordinator
  • Basic Life Support Instructor
  • Prehospital Trauma Life Support Instructor
  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support Instructor
  • Pediatric Advanced Life Support Instructor
  • Pediatric Education for Prehospital Professionals Instructor
  • Advanced Medical Life Support Instructor

Don Jones

School of EMS
Program Manager


Don received a BS degree in Education from Dakota State University majoring in Biology and Chemistry and became a high school biology teacher at O’Gorman High School in Sioux Falls.  After completing an EMT program in 1978, he volunteered with the Rescue Squad while working in Research and Development in Silver Bay, MN.  Don received his paramedic education from the University of Iowa, and acquired extensive EMS experience in Minnesota and South Dakota as a paramedic and flight paramedic before becoming the program manager with the Avera McKennan School of EMS in 1990.

Julie Swenson

EMS Education Coordinator


Julie grew up in Mohall, ND, and received a BA degree in Biology from Dakota Wesleyan University in Mitchell, SD. She is a 1993 graduate of Avera McKennan School of EMS Paramedic Program, and served as a paramedic in Sheboygan, WI. She currently works with Dell Rapids Ambulance and Lennox Ambulance. She has been with the School of EMS team since 1998.

Ryan Sittig

EMS Education Coordinator


From Dell Rapids, SD, Ryan received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Human Services from Dakota Wesleyan University in Mitchell, SD.  A 2001 graduate of the Avera McKennan Paramedic Program, Ryan has served as a paramedic in South Dakota, Iowa, and Minnesota, and is a flight medic with Avera McKennan Careflight. He has been with the School of EMS team since 2006.

Loren Iverson

EMS Education Coordinator


Loren is from Madison, SD, and received a Bachelor of Science degree from South Dakota State University in Brookings, SD. After graduating from the Avera McKennan Paramedic Program in 1997, he moved to California and worked in the Fresno area for 13 years. He has been teaching EMS courses since 2001. Loren moved back to South Dakota in 2010 to work with Avera McKennan Careflight and the School of EMS team.

Mike Wilson

EMS Education Coordinator


Mike is from Chamberlain, SD and received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Management from the University of Sioux Falls.  A 1999 graduate of the Avera McKennan School of EMS Paramedic program, Mike has served as the Operations Manager/Paramedic for the Missouri Valley Ambulance Service in Chamberlain and as a paramedic with the Mitchell Fire and EMS Division, and Yankton County EMS. He is currently working as a firefighter with Sioux Falls Fire Rescue.


2016 EMS Refresher Conference

January 28-30, 2016

For all levels of prehospital providers

Preconference course:

PHTLS Renewal, January 27, 8am-5pm

Additional courses during the conference:

CPR Renewal, January 28, 6pm-8pm

ACLS Renewal, January 28, 6pm-10pm

PALS Renewal, January 29, 6pm-10pm

Note: Paramedics, to receive a certificate for a 48-hour refresher, you must present a current card for PHTLS/ITLS, ACLS, and PALS/PEPP.

For more information, click here.

To register online, click here.

To print a registration form, click here.