Skip to Main Content

Avera Sacred Heart Hospital's Commitment To Quality

Avera Sacred Heart JCAHO Accreditation

Avera Sacred Heart is accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations. In 2007, the hospital was named one of only six hospitals in the nation to achieve top decile rankings in three clinical focus areas in the CMS/Premier quality project based on its second-year scores in heart attack, heart failure and pneumonia.

QUEST: High Performing Hospitals

Avera Sacred Heart Hospital, as well as three other Avera hospitals, is taking its vision of delivering world-class health care to new heights through the "QUEST: High Performing Hospitals" program. QUEST-which stands for Quality, Efficiency, Safety and Transparency-is a three year voluntary program where participating hospitals and health systems work together to develop and share best practices for improving performance and raising the bar in the areas of quality, safety and efficiency while at the same time reducing health care costs.

Avera Sacred Heart Awards

Transforming Care at the Bedside

Selected as one of only 68 hospitals in the nation in 2007 to participate in a national study entitled Transforming Care at the Bedside, Avera Sacred Heart nurses will focus on spending more time with patients. Avera Sacred Heart Hospital is one of only two South Dakota hospitals participating in the project.

Quality Award for Achievement in Home Care

The South Dakota Foundation for Medical Care awarded Avera Sacred Heart Home Care Service the 2008 Quality Award for Achievement in Home Care, recognizing their commitment to providing high quality home care services and achievement in clinical areas designated important by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

"Meritorious" Achievement Award in Occupational Safety

Two Avera Sacred Heart facilities earned high praise from the South Dakota Governor’s office in 2006. The South Dakota Safety Council's Governor's Workplace Safety Awards program awarded the "Meritorious" Achievement Award in Occupational Safety for the second year in row the Avera Yankton Care Center. Avera Sacred Heart Hospital received the "Outstanding" Achievement Award in Occupational Safety", up a level from "Meritorious" last year.

Commission for Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF)

CARF reviews and grants accreditation services nationally and internationally on request of a facility or program.  CARF's focus is on ensuring the services you use meet your needs for quality and the best possible outcomes.

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)

We would like to publicly and proudly acknowledge our Hospital staff, physicians and administration for achieving the maximum three-year accreditation awarded by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) during their 2005 survey of the hospital.

This recognition was achieved because of teamwork and an emphasis on providing quality of care throughout the organization. Measuring up to the challenging standards of the nation's most prestigious accrediting healthcare organization is no easy task. JCAHO evaluates the quality and safety of care delivered in over 17,000 health care organizations across the country. JCAHO standards are regarded as the most rigorous in the industry.

Most Wired 2007

Avera is once again on both the 100 “Most Wired” and 25 “Most Wireless” lists, according to the results of the 2007 Most Wired Survey and Benchmarking Study released in the July 17 issue of Hospitals & Health Networks (H&HN). Avera is the only health system in the nation to make both lists every year running since their inception (“Most Wired” in 1999 and “Most Wireless” in 2004). Some eight organizations are new to the list this year. Avera is one of only six organizations in the nation to achieve “Most Wired” for nine consecutive years.